And this is where we’re at….

Today’s blog should upset Christians as much as yesterday’s blog upset some of the Keyser fans. But it won’t.

I occasionally blog about human trafficking, or 50% of kids in the mountains of Haiti (where most missionaries don’t even go) dying before the age of 5 of dirty drinking water, or addictions, or any other of a number of issues and I will have one or two “facebook shares” and 100 people read my blog that day.  On an average day, 200 people will read my blog (about half of them people from around the world looking up sermons which I have written on my blog).  And I don’t really care about the numbers, but am just leading to something that saddens me.

Yesterday I wrote about a high school football game and what I perceived as poor sportsmanship on the part of the Keyser coach.  And I had to disable the comments because of the immature, nasty, and sometimes personal (not necessarily about me) comments – each side wanting to bash the other.  For a while I kept seeing the comments, even though I wasn’t approving them to be publicly visible.  Then I had to remove the comment option because I didn’t want to read them.  In the last 24 hours, 6,000 people have read that piece I wrote.  I had 1,000 Facebook shares.  That is a month’s worth of typical blog traffic.

Perhaps, as one writer said to me, I should not have written about this because my time would be better spent writing about Christians in the middle east being beheaded or about the lost.  And I only even tell you of these dramatic numbers to try to show you the world’s indifference on issues that matter the most to Jesus.  It makes me almost physically ill to know that as I go back to writing about abortion and Christian martyrs around the world, along with the above mentioned topics, that the majority of people in our community, many whom consider themselves Christians, do not care.

I leave you with this, from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

“The ultimate tragedy is not the oppression and cruelty by the bad people but the silence over that by the good people.”

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And this is where we’re at….

  1. Sandy says:

    Amen and so true! We need to stop being silent if we say we follow our Lord Jesus Christ!, and DO SOMETHING no matter the cost!

  2. Awesome quote, and yes it is disheartening to know that others care more about a sports game compared to why Jesus came – to help others.

Leave a Reply

