Jesus is crying

sunrise110515When our boys were little Diane would often say to them”Jesus is crying” when they lied.  I can’t remember for sure, but I think she may have said the same when they were mean to each other.  And this was her way to let them know that Jesus was not happy when they did those things.

And if I may borrow Diane’s saying, I want to tell this community that I believe Jesus is crying.  He cannot possibly be happy with all of the mean things His children are saying on social media.  He is not happy when we are mean to non-Believers (or each other).  It neither represents Him nor helps His cause.  Nobody is going to want to become His follower if we are marching around with pitchforks.  Radical Islam does that.  Followers of Jesus Christ do not.

While each person is entirely within their American rights to say whatever that want, it is my opinion that many of the things written are not worthy of those of us who have been forgiven of so much.  The Apostle Paul wrote,

“”I have the right to do anything,” you say–but not everything is beneficial. “I have the right to do anything”–but not everything is constructive.”

For whatever part I have played in this, I apologize to you and repent to Jesus Christ.  And I will try to do better today.

And it’s not that we back down from the ever-increasing limitations our government places on us as believers.  I have great respect for people who have been fined and jailed for following their convictions.  We do stand up.  But we do it as Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King did (and I’m not equating the two issues, I’m saying he was a great Christian witness in how he responded).  If we return hate for hate, the Spirit of God is not in it or in us.  And it’s not hate to take a stand, but we must choose our words carefully and if we can’t respond with kindness to a Facebook post, we should not respond at all.  And I’m not condemning you or judging any of you.  I’m telling you what God is laying on my heart.  Just as it is in a Sunday morning sermon, you decide if God is talking to you just as I decide if He is talking to me.

And finally, I’m not sure if you’re aware, but we’ve said the Lord’s Prayer publicly in the stands at every home football game this year (except one game that I wasn’t there because I took my wife to the Maryland Symphony).  Tonight is not a response to anything.  Don’t purposely sit close to anyone.  Don’t yell it.  And whatever you do, be kind to those sitting around who don’t stand and/or pray.  Pray it with a humble and contrite heart.

I pray that God may be using this situation to start a revival in our community.  If your heart is as my heart, I pray that you will share this.

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Hard times, Obstacles, Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jesus is crying

  1. Steve Austin says:

    Beautiful post. Thanks so much for sharing and challenging us all. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

