High blood pressure? I don’t want to hear that.

IMG_6193This morning our church had it’s 14th annual free Women’s Workshop.  Joy, one of many nurses in our church, was taking blood pressure readings.  I was there to help with an audio and video presentation and I went ahead and got my blood pressure taken.  It was a 146/98.  Someone else was going to get theirs taken when I was done and I told her not to go to Joy, that she tells you things you don’t want to hear.  I told her I wanted to find a person to take my blood pressure who would tell me that mine was OK.

I know that’s a ridiculous attitude.  As a matter of fact, if Joy knew my blood pressure was high and she told me it was 118/72, that would be malpractice.  My blood pressure is what it is and if it’s high, it is not Joy’s fault for telling me what it is.  I take a baby sized blood pressure pill and it’s obvious to me that it is not doing the job.  Since what Joy told me only confirms the other high blood pressure readings I’ve had in the past year or so,  I admit that I need to get with my doctor and have my dosage increased.

Joy has told me what the problem is and Dawn (another medical professional) told me what the answer is.  She said my 5 mg of lisinopril is a “baby dose”.  It’s not uncommon to take 20-40 mg of the same medicine.  The bottom line is that people who care about me have told me what the problem is and what the solution is.  And now it’s up to me.

To complain about the messenger is illogical.  Yet when a pastor preaches about sin and repentance, that’s often what happens.  Do you understand how difficult it is in our society to preach about the sinfulness of the people in the pews and their need to change their ways?  Sinners leave asking, “Who are you to judge me?”  And I want each person to know that I’m not judging anyone.  My job is to tell you/them what God’s Word says and you/they can take that information and do with it what you/they will.  I tell everyone of each person’s need for a Savior, I tell of the Savior and the forgiveness He offers repentant sinners, and then it’s up to each person who hears it to decide what they will do with that information.  And it’s malpractice if I tell you anything different.  Yet, there will be people who will leave searching for (and finding) others who will tell them what they want to hear – even if it only eases their mind in this life, but in the end will do nothing but lead them to hell.

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

