Shelter from the storm

IMG_6306There are a couple of trees in front of the church.  Under the trees there are some flowers.  Daffodils, tulips, and more.  Many of the flowers came out and then the snow came back.  The frost killed the blooms on our forsythia in the flower garden at our house.  It occurred to me today as I drove past the front of the church that the flowers underneath the trees are sheltered by the tree. The tree allows rain to get through to water the flowers, but does not allow the frost or snow to get to them.  Even the sun can get to the flowers at times of the day.

I heard God say today that He is like that tree and I am like those flowers.  He allows those things that nourish me, that are beneficial to me, and even those things that I do not wish to be exposed to, but that help me depend on Him and make me more like Him.  And I have no idea what He has sheltered me from.

God is our shelter and strength,
    always ready to help in times of trouble.
So we will not be afraid, even if the earth is shaken
    and mountains fall into the ocean depths;
even if the seas roar and rage,
    and the hills are shaken by the violence. ~ Psalm 46:1-3 GNT

This entry was posted in Hard times, Obstacles and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

