Moths and Rust

Last night I had a dream that I was in a bank in my hometown of Sistersville and I was making a deposit.  I had not realized it, but it turned out I had three $20 bills that were real money, but hand painted on a cloth-like material and very rare.  One was from 1911 and the other two were from 1914.  I handed a guy who worked there the 1911 to look at and he pulled it in half.  I was furious.  I told him I was going to have it appraised as it now is (torn in two) and as it was before he ripped it and I was going to make him pay the difference.  There was a woman who worked there who witnessed him do it.  And then the phrase “moth and rust” kept echoing over and over in my mind until I began saying “moth and rust…. moth and rust…”  from Matthew 6:19: “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal…”

I rarely remember dreaming.  And I don’t know why I remember this one.  But it is a point well taken.  Everything we own is the stuff of future trash piles and land fills.  The car or truck you currently drive will be sold for scrap metal one day.  One day you will die and someone will go through your stuff deciding what to give to relatives, what to give to Goodwill, and what to throw away.

In a day when pastors and churches send out questionnaires to find out what the people want, it is difficult to say and difficult to hear things like today’s blog.  But the truth is that this life is brief and eternity is long.  And the decisions you and I make in this short time effect eternity – not only for you and me, but for others.   Live your life in light of eternity, storing up treasures in heaven.  Read the Bible.  Pray.  Go to church.  Live generously in word and deed.  (Read. Pray. Go. Live.)  I believe the Bible conveys the message that in doing these things, we are living in light of eternity.  (And you will find these things to be beneficial in this brief life as well.)

This is an awesome illustration from Francis Chan (it’s only 4 minutes):

*

*

*

*

*

 

This entry was posted in Obstacles, Opportunity, Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

