I’ve lost 30 pounds, why doesn’t God love me more?

I’m aware that often when I make my blogs personal, it can see like I’m bragging.  And if you ever think that, know that I’ve also blogged admitting to spending a night in jail.  But I digress.

I was just washing my hands in the church bathroom and I noticed me in the mirror.  For the first time in forever, I thought my face looked thin.  I weighed myself this morning and I weighed 182 pounds.  I took off my shoes and my denim shorts and I weighed 179.5 pounds.  That’s about 30 pounds less than I weighed in February, about 4 months ago when I had just hit 210.  My entire adult life has been a constant battle with my weight.  I have been to nearly 250 before.  With a slight increase in blood pressure medicine and the weight loss, my blood pressure has gone from a little on the high side to being excellent.  I probably do not need to lose any more weight.  I also do not need to gain any.  But I’m OK with my weight up to 204, as I think I can still be active and feel relatively healthy at that weight.  When I hit the 205 range, I know it’s time to do something.

When I came out of the bathroom God’s Spirit spoke to me and told me that while it is good that I am taking care of my body, the temple of the Holy Spirit, that He does not love me any more than He did before just because I lost weight.  He said He could not love me any more than He already did.  And He did not love me any less 4 months ago when I weighed 210, nor 7 years ago when I weighed almost 250.  He does not love me any more when I am doing His will, nor any less when I am not.

Might He correct me if I focus on something other than Him and His will for me?  Certainly.  But it will only be because of His great love for me.  How sad is it when a parent gives up on his or her child?  When we put our faith in our Heavenly Father through Jesus, He loves us unconditionally and will never leave us alone.  No matter how I feel about myself, and that varies day by day, I must always remember that He loves me and that His love never wavers.  He loved me before I loved Him.  He loves me when my love for Him wanes.  He loves me.  And if you are His through Christ, He loves you just as much as He loves me.  And He loves me a lot 😉  No matter what!

*

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Hard times, Opportunity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve lost 30 pounds, why doesn’t God love me more?

  1. Dave Barr says:

    That was a great reminder of something we all need to remember in our results driven society.

Leave a Reply

