Getting tangled up in the wires

Every morning when I walk in to the church sanctuary I check to see if the Roomba automatic vacuum is on it’s base.  It runs by itself some evenings.  This morning it was not on the base.  This morning it was tangled up and stuck in wires near the organ.  (It is evident I need to build a little barrier there.)  When that happens, the Roomba sits there until the battery runs out.  There’s nothing the Roomba can do but wait for someone to pick it up and put it back on the base to recharge.

This morning I did just that.  I picked it up and carried it to the base.  When I set it down on the base, the lights came on and it played musical notes that sounded like a song of victory.  It is now being recharged.  The orange low battery light is blinking and by this afternoon it will be green and ready to go again.

We are not unlike the Roomba.  You and I get tangled up in the wires of life.  We get discouraged.  We get worn down.  We hear news from the doctor about ourselves or a loved one that is is like a punch in the gut.  We sometimes feel like we can’t go on.

But God….

  • God feels your pain.
  • God knows how to wipe away tears.
  • God will pick you up and set you back on the charger.

In his book A Long Obedience in the Same Direction, Eugene Peterson writes, “All suffering, all pain, all emptiness, all disappointment is seed: sow it in God…”

God is always up to something.  Call out to Him.  Let Him pick you up and put you on the charger.  Feel His embrace.

Many are saying of me,
    “God will not deliver him.

But you, Lord, are a shield around me,
    my glory, the One who lifts my head high.
I call out to the Lord,
    and he answers me from his holy mountain.

I lie down and sleep;
    I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.

                                                            Psalm 3:2-5

You won’t be sorry if you spend four minutes listening to Chris Rice sing “Come to Jesus”:

*

*

*

*

*

 

 

This entry was posted in Hard times and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

