The Scripture Way of Salvation According to John Wesley as Illustrated by the Conversion of Fredrick Douglass

A deep blog… or a little meat as the Apostle Paul would say.

Wall to Wall Faith, Hope, & Love

“I was for weeks, a poor, brokenhearted mourner, traveling through the darkness and misery of doubts and fears. I finally found that change of heart which comes by ‘casting all one’s care’ upon God, and by having faith in Jesus Christ, as the Redeemer, Friend, and Savior of those who diligently seek Him. After this, I saw the world in a new light. I seemed to live in a new world, surrounded by new objects, and to be animated by new hopes and desires. I loved all mankind – slaveholders not excepted; though I abhorred slavery more than ever. My great concern was, now, to have the world converted. The desire for knowledge increased, and especially did I want a thorough acquaintance with the contents of the Bible…”

That was part of Fredrick Douglass’ description of his conversion under the preaching of a Methodist preacher (Fredrick Douglass, My Bondage and…

View original post 684 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

