Did you see on Facebook…….

“Fifty minutes.  That’s the average amount of time, the company (Facebook) said, that users spend each day on its Facebook, Instagram and Messenger platforms (and that’s not counting the popular messaging app WhatsApp).  Maybe that doesn’t sound like so much. But there are only 24 hours in a day, and the average person sleeps for 8.8 of them. That means more than one-sixteenth of the average user’s waking time is spent on Facebook.

That first paragraph is from a NY Times article.  The same article also says that on average we spend 19 minutes a day reading and 17 minutes a day exercising.  Until the last six weeks, I was the average Facebook user.  But somewhere along the way, I recognized the small amount of value or quality it added to my life was not worth the time I was spending on it.  And I am not just talking about the anger of Facebook.  I am just saying that I realized it became counter-productive in my walk with Jesus.  And I’m not judging any of you.  You may handle it just fine.  You may not be convinced that it is a stumbling block for you, and it may not be.  But it certainly became one for me.

That is the thing we too often fail to grasp.  Temptations and stumbling blocks thrown in our path by the enemy of God are custom made for each of us.  The things that keep you from walking as you should with Jesus are different than the things that distract me from my walk with Him.

Yet, it’s not as if I can quit Facebook.  Most of you find my new blog posts when I post them.  Our church Facebook page publicizes our church dinners and things like the Opioid Awareness Meeting tonight at 7:00 at the Short Gap Fire Hall.  Facebook is like just about everything else.  You can use it for good or you can let it use and control you.

From now on, if you wonder if I saw it on Facebook, I probably didn’t.

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Obstacles, Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

