Repeal and Replace

Repeal and replace would be considered a trigger phrase in the United States today.  Most people who pay any attention naturally think about the arguments over the US healthcare system.  I like for my blog posts to be relevant, so I take everyday phrases, events, or illustrations and turn our thoughts toward Jesus.  I understand that as I do this I sometimes risk losing some readers because they are so opinionated about certain things.  This is probably one of them.  But if you will hang with me, this is not about healthcare.  It’s about “repeal and replace”.

This morning I listened to a Matt Chandler sermon.  He said that in our world, God is in the process of deconstructing the way the world is and reconstructing it the way He made it.  I would expound on that observation by arguing that on a more personal level, we must understand that God is deconstructing and reconstructing individuals.  God is deconstructing and reconstructing me….. and you.  And it is sometimes painful and difficult.

Romans 8:28 says, “We know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose” (NIV). … All things work together for good for those who love God and trust Him.  This is one of the basic truths in the Bible.  And when the painful, difficult times come our way, it helps me to know that God is doing something.  I often share this thought with people going through difficulties.  He is deconstructing and reconstructing.  And many, many times we get to see the reconstructing, or new bloom if you will, that takes place after the deconstructing.  Other times, however, we will not see the reconstructing until we pass from this life to the next.  So praise God from whom all blessings flow, even when things do not look like blessings.  He is always doing reconstruction work in His children.

*

*

*

*

 

This entry was posted in Hard times, Opportunity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Repeal and Replace

  1. Chas Guthrie says:

    very good and plenty to reflect on. Thank you. Chas

    On Fri, Mar 3, 2017 at 2:25 PM, Scott Knowlton’s Blog wrote:

    > scottknowlton posted: “Repeal and replace would be considered a trigger > phrase in the United States today. Most people who pay any attention > naturally think about the arguments over the US healthcare system. I like > for my blog posts to be relevant, so I take everyday phrases,” >

Leave a Reply

