The God I barely know

Most of the time in seminary I was not allowed to refer to God as He.  In my papers I was not allowed.  In my pastoral care class I was not allowed.  Many professors would omit any Biblical pronoun referring to God as He, changing it to God.  They would read John 3:16 this way: “For God so loved the world that God gave God’s only begotten Son that whosoever…”  I would always say, “Jesus called God Father, I think I’ll go with that.”  One of my friends said she was interrupted by the professor in the beginning of her prayer in front of her class when she addressed God as “Father God…”.

I call God Father and use the pronoun Him.  And I only do that because that’s the way the Bible refers to God.  In other words, that’s the way He refers to Himself.  But that’s primarily because we are so limited by language.  Do I think God is a man?  No.  God is God.  I understand the seminary’s desire to lift Him up, even if I think it is misguided (showing faulty judgement or reasoning).

The truth is, none of us know God very well.  Sometimes the best we can do is, “That’s just God being God”, like sports fans would do with professional baseball player Manny Ramirez.  Ramirez was so unpredictable that people came up with the phrase “That’s just Manny being Manny” when Ramirez did something inexplicable.  Manny’s American pro baseball career seems to be over and he just signed a contract to play baseball in Japan.  His Japanese contract includes unlimited sushi.  But I digress.

I am going to let Jonathan Cahn remind you of how immeasurably incomprehensible God is.  Please click on the photo and read what I read this morning.

img_9263*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Indescribable, uncontainable

*

*

*

 

 

This entry was posted in Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

