Nine people got saved last night

Last night our church served and provided food for people Jesus loves at the Union Rescue Mission. I love taking good food.  Last night it was turkey, gravy, biscuits, mashed potatoes, vegetables, and desserts.  I was also privileged to give them some good food in the way of encouragement through the Good News of Jesus at the Mission chapel service.

First, let me clarify that nine people did not get saved at the mission last night.  The blog title is from a tweet I saw from a pastor yesterday about nine people getting saved at the revival he preached (I assume from the tweet that he preached) the night before.  Why did he tweet that?  Was it to allow the rest of us to celebrate nine more souls saved from hell or was it pride?  His tweet seemed self serving.

The longer I am in the ministry, the more I become aware that ministry success and doing the Lord’s work, as a pastor or as a general follower, is a two edged sword.  On the one side of the blade, I brag on Jesus and what He has done and is doing.  Yet on the other side, the enemy can so quickly turn it to pride.

Last night I was testifying to someone in the kitchen of the mission about how God had been training me all my life to reach people for His glory through food.  It seemed like the right thing to share at the right time.  I was certainly not bragging that I had been in the food business half my life.

Yet there are other times I share things and afterwards I wonder if I shared that for God’s glory or for mine.  I hope it is like everything else in my walk with Jesus.  I constantly feel this tension.  For example, I am saved completely by His grace, yet I always feel like I am going to have a lot to answer for in my life.  As long as I have this awareness and tension inside of me and am always examining myself, I guess that is a good thing.  Now, am I bragging about this tension within me?

Examine yourselves, to see whether you are in the faith…
                                                            ~ 2 Corinthians 13:5

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Obstacles, Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

