He thinks God is mean

Someone was talking to me the other day about their child.  They said that their kid thinks God is mean.  The first thing that went through my mind was, “Sometimes I feel that way, too.”  The second thing that went through my mind is that when children are being instructed by loving parents, they typically feel that way.  Someone at a funeral in the past few months read a writing about their mom being the “meanest mom in the world” when they were growing up.  Obviously, the story was about a mother who did all the right things.  When you are a kid, you just want what you want and cannot see the reasons.

I was texting with someone the other day and I innocently wrote, “maybe God knew what He was doing” about something that happened that neither one of us liked.  Then I wrote, “LOL, that’s a funny thing to write.”  Of course God knows what He is doing.  He knows everything.  He knows my needs and He knows tomorrow.  He knows February 7, 2021.  He knows the day I am going to die.  He knows how long I will be the pastor of Wesley Chapel.  So He is not deterred by how things look today or how I feel about things.  He is at work for my good and your good, even if we think He is mean.  He is not mean.  I am sometimes simply unable to understand.

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Hard times, Obstacles, Opportunity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

