What might have been

A couple of weeks ago I took a picture of an egg that had hatched a baby bird.  The bird was gone and the shell was left.  This morning I took a picture of an egg that did not hatch.  Only God knows what went wrong.  An egg that has gone unhatched in the springtime is sad.

I saw a robin chasing a squirrel across our front yard yesterday.  I did not realize until I Googled it that squirrels eat the bird eggs!

The unfulfilled promise of this bird egg makes me think of all that people miss out on when they do not live their lives for Jesus.  My dad was saved on his death bed and I assume my grandmother was surprised to see him in heaven.  He did not live his life for Jesus.  And while a last minute salvation gets you into heaven the same as a long life lived for Christ, I cannot help but think about what all he missed out on during his life.  The peace, the hope, the adventure, and the forgiveness.  The beauty of a life lived following Christ is all those things and more.  It does not mean the trials will not come.  But there is a peace available to you in and through those trials.  God is with you.

Be of good courage, and he shall strengthen your heart, all you that hope in the LORD.  ~ Psalm 31:24 (AKJV)

*

*

*

*

*

 

This entry was posted in Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

