Share your story here

I’m writing this week from Leogane, Haiti. Diane and I have seven people with us who are experiencing their first trip here and 6 of the are on their first international mission trip. I know some of their friends are anxious to hear how it is going.  It is well. It is well, it is well with our souls. 

I do not think there is a person in our group who did not shed tears on our first day here, including Diane and me who have been here multiple times.  Diane said last night that she and I are blessed when we bring new people here to be able to see Haiti through their eyes.  That was so insightful and true for the two of us. We have a doctor an a pediatric physician’s assistant with us who used their gifts yesterday and who have work in the name of Jesus lined up today.  We have a sixteen year old who reminded us all at communion last night that if you have $20, you are more materially blessed than most people in Haiti. And she and others shared that here we will learn how to live with a blessed attitude no matter our situations.  We have a married couple, who on day 1 are already saying “we have to start working on others at home to get them here”. We have one person who has served as a pastor the last two years who has proven through that and through this trip that he is willing to say yes to the Lord. He will now work with youth and missions at our home church.  And then we have JoLynn.  She a person with us who has one of the kindest hearts I’ve ever known. She has been on mission trips and other times she has been a financial sender of others as she stayed home and worked.

And God has brought the nine of us together for this short week.  I was writing today as much as anything to let their friends know they’re ok and walking in God’s will. But something hit me as I opened my blog app to write today. When I open it it says “share your story”. I am reminded that’s what we’re all called to do, wherever we are. And when we tell our story, it is to tell of Jesus. 

That brings to mind these lyrics from “My Story” by Big Daddy Weave:

If I told you my story

You would hear hope that wouldn’t let go

If I told you my story

You would hear love that never gave up

If I told you my story

You would hear life but it wasn’t mine

If I should speak then let it be

Of the grace that is greater than all my sin

Of when justice was served and where mercy wins

Of the kindness of Jesus that draws me in

To tell you my story is to tell of Him. 

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

