Do SOMETHING

Nicole Read at a faith based mission in Kenya

I remember when then NFL QB Boomer Esiason announced his 2 year old son had Cystic Fibrosis.  That was in the mid 1990’s.  Around that time, the life expectancy was 20 years.  It has almost doubled since then.  And part of that is because the Esiason foundation has raised $80 million dollars.  And I am guessing most of you do not even know what CF is.  I admit that I did not until I looked it up this morning.  When things personally affect us, we tend to care more about it.  That is the way it is for all of us.  That is one of the wonderful things about taking people to Haiti.  Nearly every person who goes can no longer live their lives ignorant of or indifferent to the people there, because they have a personal experience with the people there.  Our short term missionary Nicole Reed is going to come back from Kenya with a heart for the people in Kenya.  And if she can do nothing else, she will pray for them.

The preceding paragraph is a pathway for me to talk about the ministries of the church and about things you and I care about.  Some people in the church have a burden for the food pantry.  Some people (including my wife) have a heart for OCC (Operation Christmas Child).  God gave Carolyn Weigle a heart for the Ronald McDonald House at WVU Hospital.  Some are all about putting the majority of their Sunday morning offering in the major maintenance account (that takes care of the church property).  Some have a love for VBS.  I have a heart for the Wednesday night dinners.  I also have a heart for missions, from Short Gap to Cumberland to Haiti to the ends of the earth.

When I was the pastor at the Mason UMC, I always told the people there that the church should have so much going on that it was impossible for one person to be invested in all the things.  The more things that are going on, the more likely it is that we can get everyone involved in something.  One of the most powerful things about the church is that God has brought together many different people, from many different backgrounds, with many different gifts, to do many different things, all for one reason:  To glorify Jesus Christ.

So I am not to judge people who have a heart for putting money in the major maintenance account, as if they should instead be giving their money to OCC or for people to go on mission trips.  That is what bothers me most about people who say I (they say we, even though they mean me) should be helping people here before we help people in Haiti.  They do not decide what God has given me a passion and equipped me for.

The ministry that God has given me is not greater nor more important than the ministry He has given you, and vice versa.  That is, as long as you and I are each doing what you and I are doing to glorify Jesus Christ.  I hope you might listen to Matthew West in the song below.

In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven. ~ Matthew 5:16

 

*

*

It’s not enough for us to do nothing.

*

*

It’s time for us to do something

*

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Opportunity, Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

