You rarely know what’s inside

For the last month or so a crew has been putting a new roof on the church.  Over half the church had a flat roof before, and now the entire roof will be a gabled roof.  The new roof looks like it has been there all along, including the part that connects the two buildings.  They have done a great job, down to matching the shingles.  From the exterior, it looks as if they are done.  However, they are now working on the inside.

You might wonder what why they are working on the inside.  They are putting a stairwell inside the church to gain access to the old flat roof.  And you may wonder why they are putting in a stairwell.  When they designed the new trusses, they put in a type of truss that made a 12 foot wide and 8 foot tall room inside the new roof.  The room inside the new roof is 64 feet long and will be used for storage.  Visitors to the church and those driving by will have no idea what is inside that roof.  The people of the church will know.

It is a vivid reminder that each one of us knows who we are inside.  I know who I am on the inside.  You know who you are on the inside.  And God knows who we all are.  He knows who we pretend to be, and who we really are.  If you have anything to confess to Him, He is faithful and just to forgive you.  If you go on thinking you can fool Him, one day you will realize that there is nothing you can hide from Him and nowhere you can hide, even if you have everyone else fooled. The scary part is you can begin to fool yourself.  Seek Him before it is too late.  He will not reject you.  “The sacrifice you desire, O God, is a broken spirit. You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God.” ~ Psalm 51:17

Psalm 139

1 Lord, you have examined me
    and know all about me.
You know when I sit down and when I get up.
    You know my thoughts before I think them.
You know where I go and where I lie down.
    You know everything I do.
Lord, even before I say a word,
    you already know it.
You are all around me—in front and in back—
    and have put your hand on me.
Your knowledge is amazing to me;
    it is more than I can understand.

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Obstacles, Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You rarely know what’s inside

  1. On Thursday (the day that this blog was posted) I started writing a sermon including some of the topics you wrote about. However, in order to focus on writing I didn’t allow myself to look at any other content other than research for my sermon. God’s timing is perfect because just when I finish I look at your post and it is the same thing!

Leave a Reply

