“I am tired of all the negativity on Facebook”

Let me begin by saying I am not tired of all the negativity.  No, wait.  That does not sound right.  What I mean is that the title of today’s post is to make a point.  As far as negativity, I really try not to let negativity bother me, even as I do not always succeed.  And the truth is that I absorb much more “positivity” than I do negativity.  The problem is when I focus on the negative instead of the positive.  I absorb positivity when I am in prayer, when I am in God’s Word, and when I am around Jesus loving people like Marvin and Christine Funkhouser, and their daughter Diane and her husband Donny Kile.  Marvin stopped in yesterday while I was preparing dinner for last night’s community dinner.  He is a great guy to spend five minutes or an hour with.  I also enjoy the positivity that comes from serving Jesus.

As for the negativity, sometimes things just appear negative, but they are really a positive.  One example of this is from Hebrews 12:11: “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.”  When people are offended by the Word of God, that’s not a negative, even if they feel like it is.  It does crack me up when I see the occasional Facebook post that says, “I am tired of all the negativity on Facebook”.  I see that as only adding to the negativity on Facebook. You know if you have ever posted that…. I am laughing with you right now, not at you.

I just got a prayer book written in 1949 by John Baillie.  I am going to try and add positivity to Facebook from the church Facebook page by paraphrasing excerpts from Baillie’s morning and evening prayers.  Here’s the one from this morning:

O God, my Creator and Redeemer, I do not even want to begin the day unless Your Spirit goes with me. I do not want to let the bright new morning, my good health, and my own abilities deceive me into thinking I can handle today on my own. These are all gifts from You. Help me cherish them today. Give me the grace to fulfil Your divine purpose for me in the world today. In Jesus’ Name, Amen

(You can like and follow the Wesley Chapel Facebook page here.)

*

*

*

*

*

 

 

This entry was posted in Opportunity, prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

