There comes a time…

My parking lot pick up basketball career came to an abrupt end when, in the Spring of 2022 at the age of 60, I caught a head below my left eye. I ended up with a partially detached retina. Four surgeries, thousands of dollars in medical expenses, and 18 months later, I am still facing an uncertain future with my left eye. My situation makes me empathetic to presidential candidate Doug Burgum, who sought care in the local emergency room after hurting himself playing pick up basketball in Wisconsin the day before tonight’s presidential debate.

There comes a time in all of our lives when we realize we can not and/or should not do what we used to do. I will be 62 in January and once in a while I think I should be using a handrail instead of occasionally flying down steps two at a time. I wish it were not so, but it will probably take a twisted ankle before I come to the conclusion that my “taking steps two by two” days are over.

Sometimes we choose things for ourselves and other times things are chosen for us. When people live long enough, there comes a time for all older adults when driving is not prudent. Some times they choose to quit driving, but quite often someone has to tell them they are no longer permitted to drive. When that day comes for Diane, my prayer is that she will still be able to drive her golf cart at the beach 😉

As is the case with nearly every one of my 1,800 writings compiled here on my blog, this is where I make the Jesus pivot. There will come a time for each of us that we will stand before the God who created us and give an account. Sometimes people talk negatively about judgment, and particularly about how we should not judge, but to do so at the expense of leading people to believe there will not be a day of reckoning is a deception of the devil and his minions. There comes a time when it will matter if we received the gift of salvation available exclusively through the sacrifice of Jesus. Perhaps this is the time for you to receive it and receive Him?

This entry was posted in Hard times, Obstacles, Opportunity, salvation, Walking the Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.