Evidence of the Son

Cloud obscured Sunrise

Yesterday morning I went to the beach and waited for the sunrise. Thanks to the weather app I knew the sunrise was to be at 7 AM. It was dark when I got there. The closer it got to 7:00 the more I could see cloud cover, and the less confidence I had that I would see the sun. At 7:30 when I left, it was light, but the sun was not visible.

I and many others were disappointed we would not be seeing the sun reflecting off of the water on this morning. However, none of us would have dared claim the sun was not there. When the clouds cleared an hour later and the sun was visible, I walked back down to behold its beauty on the water.

I see an an analogy where the sun is Jesus and you and I are the daylight. You and I who have come to faith in Christ and follow Him know we are different than what we used to be. Ideally, others can see it as well. Some who didn’t know me before might not see the transformation that has occurred, but I know it. My wife knows it.

Yet, even if our lives aren’t that obviously different, or if it’s been so long that who we used to be is ancient history, the way we deal with life is… or should be different. While all people deal with the same problems of life, we have a refuge and comforter. While none of us know what tomorrow holds, we know who holds tomorrow. While we mourn like others, we do not mourn as those who have no hope. No, there is something different about us. And that something can only be explained by the Son.

There is a light around us, and within us that cannot be sniffed out by life‘s problems. And we will gladly proclaim it.

This entry was posted in Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.