I look to the hills – Psalm 121

Someone sent me a gracious, heartfelt, encouraging, and timely message on Facebook the other day giving me more credit than I deserve for the way God has transformed the person’s life.  I told them, “I’ve had help.”  While I do not take credit for their transformation, I appreciate whatever part God has allowed me to play in the person’s life.  Whatever part I have played is only with His help.

I read about, meditated on and prayed Psalm 121 this morning.  It begins by saying, “I lift my eyes to the hills.  Where does my help come from?  It comes from the Lord, who created the heavens and the earth.”

Eugene Peterson explains in his book “A Long Obedience in the Same Direction” that in the time the Psalm was written and sung, many of the people who worshipped the false gods would set their idols and temples high in the mountains.  Shrines, groves of trees, male and female prostitutes: all there to meet your needs and offer you protection.  Yet, all that was found in the mountains were frauds and cheats.  A look to the hills for help only ever ended in disappointment.  God’s people knew when they looked to the mountains that their help was not found in the mountains.  Help is found in the Lord alone, who made the mountains.  And He never slumbers.  Which is good because I always need help.  Look to Jesus for your help.  He is there for you.  While He may not meet your every expectation, He always gives you what you need.

This was a great and timely message for me today and I hope it is to you as well.

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Hard times, Obstacles, Opportunity, Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.